Access level and sharing, how they work together

Why does sharing get grayed out on content when I set an access level?

Content can only be shared when the access level is set to Anyone. The reason, if you have content set at a access level higher than Anyone and that content gets shared it needs to be available to Anyone on their site. Notice when you set an access level above Anyone, the options to share or not share are grayed out. They are not applicable any longer. The access level overrides the sharing.

Try this.
  • Go to a content page in the dashboard and select Content Pages from the left navigation bar.
  • Select a content page then scroll down to the Privileges and sharing. If Who can view this page is set to Anyone, the sharing options are not grayed out.
  • Now change to a higher level access. You get a message stating: "Restricting access to this content will prevent you from sharing it with other websites. Are you sure you want to continue?" You have the options to select OK or Cancel.
  • Select OK and the sharing is grayed out. If you switch back to Anyone, the sharing options will appear again.